strange old bird

courtesy of: read write poem

the_victorian_lady_by_laletizia.jpg

every family’s got one
of that you can be sure,,
the old,, eccentric, maiden aunt..
you don’t know much about her
except that she’s
a bit of a strange old bird
and in my family
i must admit,,
i think i’m her

you know the one with
no husband and no children?
doesn’t date
hardly ever leaves the house-
writes poetry
sleeps with dogs
doesn’t keep herself up….
yep,, thats me
how’d this ever come about?

i used to be the wild one
the free spirit..
the one they
voted most likely
to end up dead.
the one who called
screaming from jail
in the middle of the night,
and disappeared
for years at a time…

the one that was
forever moving
with no real
place to call home.
the one that was always
on some guy or another’s arm.
the one who spent her days
doing drugs
in the company of fools,,
cause she was scared to death
of ever being left alone…

but now i just sit here
alone in my canyon,
with two hairy beasts,
asleep, in my bed.
writing poetry by day,
and dreaming by night,
of a handsome prince
that will never know
that i, was meant to be
his maiden fair….

photo:

http://laletizia.deviantart.com/art/The-Victorian-Lady-63696193

napowrimo_rwp.jpg

1832702202_e36e447d7a_o.jpg

27 Comments to “strange old bird”

  1. The photo/drawing entitled ‘The Victorian Lady’ is very aptly chosen because there is definitely a Victorian sensibility to this piece. That the handsome prince will never know you were meant to be his maiden fair is so good it actually made me gasp. There is something of courtly love/ Arthurian romance in that phrase.

    And as for you being a maiden aunt – if you are – and I don’t concede for a moment you are – you are the coolest maiden aunt on the planet. As well as a poet to be reckoned with. I really enjoyed this piece.

  2. you paint a sad picture but writing poetry and dreaming doesn’t sound so bad at all, the ending was the best part, I don’t think solitude’s bad unless you never go outside

  3. paisley,
    Dear maiden faire, you find the most outragous and spectacular pictures. they are f***ing awsome.
    I hadn’t thought of my aunt josie in years and now she’s back. Quite a renegade in her younger years and some unsavory skeletons in her closet. By the time I got to know here she was way old, in her forties I think 😉 Anyway she was quite reclusive and she didn’t write poetry. but she did have a dog, his name was Tippy. She complained alot and played cards with her sisters on Saturday night.
    rel

  4. I dunno…perhaps after all that time as a free spirit, being “the one that was/ forever moving/ with no real/ place to call home”, you finally found one – one where you are loved by two faithful companions and get to write beautiful words to share with us…

  5. This is great. I’ll probably be the weird uncle!

  6. A beautiful poem Paisley… although I doubt anyone thinks you’re a strange old bird…
    I don’t 🙂

  7. hey, whoever said you were a strange old bird? strange old birds do not write hauntingly beautiful poetry, …mebbe you have found home?

  8. Not an odd duck. There are too many odder ones out there for you to compete with such little ammunition. You’re brilliant. That trumps anything else.

  9. That was a beautiful poem, and it went so perfectly with the photo. I think you are still somewhat of a free spirit.

  10. Hi paisley,
    I really liked this poem! It made me smile!! (Though I think the second verse is not gelling somewhere, the rhythm went a little flat…)- Just my opinion!
    Thanks for commenting on my blog! Glad you liked it!
    -Ayesha (alias Maya)

  11. may be we all feel this, me too feel like the strange non belonging person in the family..just go and meet your family, you will be surprised how easy they will take you in..and in no time you will be one among them

  12. Very interesting take on the Aunt prompt. Great poem!

  13. I loved this one. I am the crazy person in my family too. I was the one that everyone thought would be dead by 30. But, I am still here. Somehow. Crazy. Bitch. And All.

  14. I’ll assume you’re writing about yourself, and say that you’re more of a free spirit than ever. You still are doing what you want, when you want it. As far as love goes, maybe you need to join your local poet’s society!

  15. Coincidence! I too wrote about myself…

    Similarity end there!

    😀

    wicked witch

  16. Stunning.

    Just stunning.

    Your poetry has a very visceral quality.

  17. Anyone who can write with such eloquence will never be an “old bird.” You’ve done a lot of living and learned so much through your experiences. Wisdom sometimes comes with a big price.

  18. I loved this- it’s so honest and sincere.
    The picture is amazing, too!
    🙂

  19. Great poem. Sometimes it is amazing what we turn into over a lifetime.

  20. Yes, great paring of imagery!

  21. This one really packs a punch Paisley.

    Brought to mind my great-aunt Katie, now deceased. The ‘cat lady’ with 20+ felines to share her life, at any given time.

    I’m guessing you’ve still got loads of adventure and romance still to come.

  22. Great poem!!! I am enjoying NaPoWriMo and reading so many great things. The painting was awesome too and fit the poem really well–except I don’t picture you quite like that. 🙂 The poem reminded me of so many of my friends…and perhaps of myself until a few years ago when my handsome prince finally found me (at 32). Thanks for sharing!

  23. Excellent! You move through her (your?) life seamlessly.

  24. I think, Paisley, if you are a maiden aunt, you have, to your readers, at least, redefined the definition of a maiden aunt from a boring eccentric to a fascinating eccentric. A good thing. What I wouldn’t have given to have had an aunt with so much knowledge and skill in writing.

  25. Some of us are better off alone. It’s the realization of that truth that sometimes catches us by surprise.

    I love the feel of this poem. It flows very smoothly and each stanza unveils more and more of the situation. Love it!

  26. experience teaches us quite a bit, i think you ‘lived’ life in the true sense, and I feel pride when I say I know you…

Leave a comment