back to the bar

courtesy of cafe writing, which provided me with the following photo by: l. h. prior, as my inspiration

april2008.png

i went back to the bar
where i met you
been so long
i just couldn’t forget
how much i loved you
back in the beginning
in that smoky old bar
where we met

i went back to the bar
just to find you
but neither you
nor the bar was still there
i felt so damn old
as i stood there all alone
then i realized
“i no longer belong here.”

so i left the part of you
i’ve hung on to
on the one leftover
red pleather chair
and i said adios
to both you, and the bar
blew a kiss, and
got the hell outta there….

kubrickheader.jpg

napowrimo_rwp.jpg

22 Responses to “back to the bar”

  1. “so i left the part of you
    i’ve hung on to
    on the one leftover
    red pleather chair
    and i said adios”

    how much strength this would take to do…to finally be able to say good-bye

    I think this has to be one of my favorites

  2. Brilliant.
    Thanks for participating.

  3. oh jodi! are you really ready to “let go” ????

  4. I think Jodi is and she constantly amazes me

    This is wonderful. How can you constantly do it?

  5. It is so true. Those memories – so vivid. That ARE real. But they do not exsist for they are only memories. And that is the game we play in our head – round and round and round – becasue they ARE so real to us.
    And unless we do something about this – this rummination- we will only sit here in our stagnation- day after day. We will suffer too much this way. We have to let go. It WAS. It is NO LONGER. All the faces have changed. With both hands we MUSt let go. We are too smart for all of this. Let’s wake up tomorrow and have it be over, OK?

    But sometimes the pain feels too good.

  6. I’m old too, pull up a rockin’ chair and forget about it 😀

  7. This one too sounds like the blues, nostalgic, but also accepting of one’s lot. A haapy sadness, because the narator realizes that bar is no longer her kind of place. Great photo!

  8. paisley,
    Saying goodbye is one thing…
    Forgetting, quite another.
    rel

  9. Indeed, saying goodbye like this needs strength- lovely poem, once again!

  10. Keep the memories in a good place
    They travel better that way
    You will know the time
    When to step ahead
    You will feel it deep inside

  11. Why is it so hard to put the past in the past? Of course, if we could, then we wouldn’t have all the beautiful artistic creations born of such feelings.
    🙂

  12. Yes, what Christine said, this has a real blues feel to it, I walked into that room with you, very powerful, loved it.

  13. This is deceptively simple. I love the way you’ve used enjambment in verses 1 and 3 -‘forget/how much I love you’ is very effective in the way it delays the expected ‘you’ after ‘forget’ and ‘the one leftover/red leather chair’ is sublime.

  14. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you would make a great lyricist, particularly in the jazz or blues genres. This is a song waiting to happen. I might even try and set it to music myself (with your permission, of course.) I love this. LOVE it. You never cease to motivate me to keep writing. I am hugging you virtually right now!

  15. incredibly poignant and very real; beautiful in its simplicity

  16. love the strength in the poem and then the feminine quality “blew a kiss” yet you have left the past behind so it is a kiss of strength in saying goodbye. Loved the photo and poem!

  17. Great story you wove around the photo.

    Yes, sometimes it becomes strikingly clear when something’s over…

  18. You have a phenomenal way with words, evoking imagery and emotion equally brilliantly.
    Well done, once again 🙂

  19. I think sometimes all one can do is “let go”.

    Wonderful job!

  20. I’m somewhat disappointed that I posted my comment a long time ago on this piece and now that I’m returning to check, it never showed up. 😦

    Anyway, I really like how this photo really stimulated your piece as it relates to a bar. The description of the bar in your piece really clarifies and zooms into the “bar” photo if that makes any sense to you. 🙂 I enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment